Mike D'Antoni Wins 2017 NBA Coach of the Year Award

Rachel Hardy
June 28, 2017

Houston Rockets head coach Mike D'Antoni has been named the NBA's Coach of the Year for the 2016-17 season, which was his first year coaching the team.

"Malcolm worked tirelessly to improve his game and became a valuable contributor", said Bucks coach Jason Kidd, who won co-Rookie of the Year honors with Grant Hill in 1995. When he began his acceptance speech, D'Antoni started out with a joke about his Knicks tenure.

Mike D'Antoni can add another NBA Coach of the Year award to his trophy case. He then was hired by the Knicks for big money, but things went poorly and he was sacked amid an 18-24 campaign in his fourth season leading the team. He led the Rockets to 55 victories and a league record for 3-pointers this season.

As a reward for his success, D'Antoni was rewarded with the 2017 NBA Coach of the Year Award. He's won the award three times in the past, most recently in 2014. Last season, the Rockets went just 41-41. Meanwhile, the Spurs' Kawhi Leonard quietly continued to emerge as one of the league's top two-way players showing both defensive and offensive skills.

Brogdon averaged 10.2 points and 4.2 assists this past season - the lowest of any victor - but became the second player in Bucks franchise history to win the honor, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1969-70).

Grave warning from Israeli PM after Syria attack on United Nations border post
The Syrian Observatory for Human Rights , a British-based monitoring group, said two Syrian soldiers were killed in the attack. The spillover was a result of the fighting in Quneitra, next to the disputed border between Syria and Israel.

Gordon set an National Basketball Association single-season record for most 3-pointers off the bench, helping the high-scoring Rockets make more shots behind the arc than any team in history.

Malcolm Brogdon of the Milwaukee Bucks is the NBA's Rookie of the Year.

Gordon beat out teammate Lou Williams and Golden State's Andre Iguodala. For months, there had been debates among sports analysts, journalists, and fans as to which player was most deserving. There were four worldwide players on the first team for the first time in the award's history.

Executive of the Year: Bob Myers, Golden State.

Other reports by TheDailyFarc

Discuss This Article