India complete Sri Lanka tour whitewash with emphatic T20 win

Rachel Hardy
September 7, 2017

At the R Premadasa Stadium, they put on 119 runs off 78 balls for the 3rd wicket to set up this win as the visitors completed a clean sweep on this tour, having won the Test series 3-0 and the ODI series 5-0 previously.

The Sri Lankan team has been on a downfall so far. The captain Virat Kohli also performed well and reached centuries in the last two ODI matches at the island nation.

Even so, there were no sure hints coming forth as the Indian team enjoyed an additional off day ahead of the game and did not practice. Dilshan Munaweera smashed his maiden half-century while debutant Ashan Priyanjan played a useful hand to guide Sri Lanka to a respectable 170 for seven in the lone Twenty20 match.

This is the last chance for the host nation to cool down their fans by at least a win in the T20I format.

IST: It's been raining since last morning in Colombo. So, the captain Virat Kohli is under confusion on the selection of players while the team had some bad taste against West Indies. This is the time to make some changes in the starting XI. After being removed from Angelo Mathews in July, Tharanga has been given the command of the team in ODIs and T20s.

Because of the Dhawan's injury absence, it is expected that the Kohli will walk down to the ground along with Rohit Sharma.

Tropical Storm Jose expected to become hurricane
The policy only applies to vacations booked directly through Disney, and it does not apply to dining or special events. Seven thousand National Guard members will be reporting for duty Friday morning to help with preparation efforts.

India's T20 specialists - Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah - gave the visitors a flawless start to remove the opening duo.

Jasprit Bumrah (two for 45), Kuldeep Yadav (one for 40) and Yuzvendra Chahal (one for 36) were the other wicket-takers.

Newly included in the T20I squad, leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay, pacers Isuru Udana, Vikum Sanjaya and medium pacer Suranga Lakmal will look to destroy the Indian batting along with their spearhead bowler Lasith Malinga.

For India, Yuzvendra Chahal took 3 wickets, while Kuldeep Yadav took 2 wickets.

Sri Lanka and Indian sub-continent:Sony Ten. Umpires will do an inspection at 7 pm.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar removed Upul Tharanga to kick-start India's latest drive for victory, the Sri Lanka opener bowled for just five.

Other reports by TheDailyFarc

Discuss This Article