Steve Smith Sr. not the player nominated for the Hall of Fame

Lynne Hanson
September 17, 2017

The Pro Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday evening announced 108 former players and coaches as Modern-Era nominees for the Class of 2018. The only actual preliminary requirement is that the player or coach must have been retired for five years. The move was a mere formality; Urlacher is one of 108 men and 11 first-year candidates listed for this upcoming year's class, which will be whittled to 25 semifinalists in November and 15 finalist in January.

He'll have stiff competition, but I know he's worth it!

Vanden Bosch played three seasons for the Lions (2010-12) and spent time with the Arizona Cardinals and Tennessee Titans in his 11-year career. The Steve Smith who had modest career totals of 2,641 yards and 12 touchdowns. His collection of accolades rivals anybody who's ever played the game: two Super Bowl wins, Super Bowl MVP, two-time National Football League defensive Player of the Year, seven first-team all-pro selections, 13 Pro Bowls and member of the NFL's all-decade team for the 2000s. Urlacher carried on a proud tradition at the linebacker position for the Chicago Bears, following a long lineage at the position that included Hall of Famers Mike Singletary, Dick Butkus, Bill George, George Connor, Clyde "Bulldog" Turner and Bronko Nagurski.

Among the other first-year eligible nominees are former Ravens middle linebacker Ray Lewis and former receiver Randy Moss.

If she can find a competitive team, Danica Patrick will keep racing
Patrick - who has seven Top-10 finishes in 180 career starts in NASCAR - had been under contract with Stewart's team through 2018. And she won't miss the weekends when the auto rolls off the truck, is a beast to drive and doesn't get any better through Sunday.

Kramer will join the 15 era modern-era finalists and two others from the senior and contributor categories to be voted upon by the Selection Committee on the day before Super Bowl LII. From 2003 through 2006, he was on the AFC Pro Bowl team and, in 2004, 2005 and 2006, he made the All-Pro team.

Owens, who prepped at Benjamin Russell in Alexander City, has reached finalist status in both of his previous years of eligibility without being selected to take the final step into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

During those golden Redskins years, Petitbon was the team's defensive coordinator.

Defensive backs: CB Eric Allen, S Steve Atwater, CB/S Ronde Barber, S LeRoy Butler, S Brian Dawkins, S Rodney Harrison, CB Ty Law, CB Albert Lewis, S John Lynch, S Dennis Smith, CB Everson Walls, S Darren Woodson. Induction will held next August in Canton, Ohio.

Other reports by TheDailyFarc

Discuss This Article