BJP scores massive win in UP civic polls, Congress suffers jolt

Trevor Jackson
December 2, 2017

Amethi local body election result ensured the victory for BJP by defeating Congress. Yogi Adityanath has nearly passed his first biggest electoral test in Uttar Pradesh. The saffron party is leading in Meerut, Saharanpur, Lucknow, Ghaziabad and Gorakhpur.

In the postal ballot round, the BJP did predictably well.

Setback for Congress and Samajwadi Party but BSP wins mayoral seat in Aligarh.

In Agra, Dhakre had polled 11,416 votes while BJP's Jain was trailing behind with 4,320 votes.

For the BSP, Mohd Furqan won in Aligarh by claiming 1.25 lakh votes to defeat BJP's Rajiv Kumar by around 10,000 votes. SP won 37 palika and 78 nagar panchayat chairperson seats while BSP has won 22 and 41 seats, respectively.

Meet Nadira Khatoon who defeated BJP's Maya Tripathi by 483 votes in an outcome that has surprised many.

Lucknow, which elected BJP's Sanyukta Bhatia as its first woman mayor, was among the prestigious seats like Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi, temple town Ayodhya and Adityanath's home turf Gorakhpur, that the BJP won.

Jordan King warns U.S. moving embassy to Jerusalem could jeopardize peace efforts
The vice president added that the Trump administration is also committed to ending the conflict between Israelis and Palestinians. In just a few more weeks, the president will decide whether to approve the move or stave off the decision for another six months.

The BJP will now look forward to achieving the goal of one hundred per cent success in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, he said. At both the seats Samajwadi Party candidates are at second place. In Jais, BJP candidate Mahesh Sonkar was leading.

The Musafirkhana seat was won by independent Brijesh Agrihari while the Amethi seat was won by BJP candidate Chandra Devi.

Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma said the people had shown full faith in the BJP. On the Opposition's charges of EVM tampering, Sharma said, "The shortcoming is not in the EVMs but in their minds". This must be pleasing for BSP chief Mayawati who unsuccessfully tried everything in the book to make her Dalit-Muslim combination work during the 2014 and 2017 polls.

The state election commission previously said that counting of votes will be held at 334 centers at district headquarters. "They continued to support SP leader Azam Khan", said a BJP MP.

Official sources said no procession would be allowed during the counting process and following the announcement of the results.

Polling was held for 16 nagar nigams, 198 nagar palika parishads and 438 nagar panchayats with an average turnout of all the three phases estimated at 52.5% of the 3.32 crore voters.

Other reports by TheDailyFarc

Discuss This Article